India Diaries -I

 

I am jetlagged! Totally! If you are talking to me in daytime, chances are that I am thinking that you are part of my dream. And in night, when I am awake, I am pretty much doing nothing, just thinking of how to make contact with alien race. Anyways, whenever I am not sleeping in the daytime, I am trying and avoiding death at the hands of cyclewallahs, rickshawwallahs, buswallahs, anything-on-the-road-wallahs. Yesterday at least 34 bicycle ridden assasins tried to kill me, and that too in a span of 10 minutes till I reached bus stop. After that the bus driver took over.

 

All this while I was trying to prevent these two people from falling out of the bus, I was thinking about these lines from Sunscreen song by Baz Luhrmann, “Live in New York City once, but leave before it makes you hard; live in Northern California once, but leave before it makes you soft.”  I was wondering if New York can be replaced with New Delhi and Northern California with Happy Valley in my case.

 

Oh! And did I tell you I was on same flight as Dr. Amartya Sen. Really! Although I thought that he was Amartya Sen intially but after my own face matching analysis I rejected the notion. But yesterday after reading newspaper, I realized that it was infact him. Another interesting thing happened in the flight, this old couple from Punjab sitting next to me, after getting all information about me, popped up the question about a potential arranged marriage match. I am still undecided as to whether I should see this as a sign of things to come in near future, or as a random question born out of a long flight on old minds. Whatever!

 

The non-stop flight to India was nice, except that the uncle ji sitting next to me kept on talking in some accent, of which I only understood, “ohji ollihji ollo olli khar khar khar” and girl sitting behind me kept on shouting that the engines are going to freeze midway. Stupid Girl! Due to her I could not imagine anything but a 30,000 ft skydive on my 14 hour long flight.

 

That’s almost everything so far! Will be back as soon as I can manage the telecom companies to repair the net connection at my home or else my next post will be from a telephone wire pillar.

2 thoughts on “India Diaries -I

  1. Siddharth says:

    Hilarious… Enjoy your trip!!!

  2. charu says:

    Awwwww.. Shaadi ka proposal.. blush blush 🙂

Leave a Reply

