Research and Me

 

Yesterday, somebody asked me, “What are you working on for your PhD?”

 

I was in no mood to talk about the algorithms for protein function prediction, networks and all. (Actually I am rarely in that mood)

 

So as usual I made up some story, which interests me and throws listener into pit of amazement. Amazement that is born due to sheer uncertainty of my work.

 

I said that I am trying to study ‘how retinal patterns in cockroach eyes can tell us about the first events after big bang‘.  Then I went over the whole idea of how different sections of a complex eye are similar to different galaxies with different structures and potentials. 

 

4 thoughts on “Research and Me

  1. planetross says:

    You are a madman!
    I guess the first mistake someone makes is asking the question. The second is listening to your answer.
    Hey! I think there is a PhD thesis in there somewhere 🙂

  2. planetross says:

    To be fair, when people ask me what I’m working on, I say “the perfect murder”.

  3. onlymoments says:

    And here I thought you were working on the physical twitching responses of psychotic blogging commenters and their relationship to violent satan worshipping murders…..wait …..you lied to me……YOU LIED TO ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU NO GOOD #$%^@^&%^*&^(*^%)(&*($%^&%#$ i’LL GET YOU AND YOUR DOG TOO!!!!!! OOPS, sorry about that, now what was I responding to?

  4. Gaurav says:

    @planetross

    ha ha ha..I take that as complement. But somehow people do keep on doing the mistake of asking and listening.

    @planetross again!

    thats a nice answer! and if they ask more, u can easily say, “its confedential” or “can’t tell you as it concerns you”.

    @ onlymoments

    ha ha ha…thats one of the most hilarious comments I have received on this blog!

Leave a Reply

