Valentine’s Day Special!

Well I can’t have much to say here because I am a perennially single guy who some choose to call a L-o-s-e-r on this day.

But hey that’s what I am and besides presenting a paper on “Prediction of protein essentiality in complex organisms like otters”, I did read this interesting article on CNN.
This is what it says;

The National Retail Federation estimates that Americans will spend $17.02 billion on Valentine’s gifts this year.

[Snip]

Each person is expected to spend an average of $122.98 on Valentine’s Day, according to retail trade group. The figure is up from $119.67 last year.

Okie, so if I subtract $5.61 that I spent on Subway Sandwich, I have saved $117.38 today. And they call me a L-o-s-e-r!

$17.02 billion in gifts. Wow!! Valentine’s Day is the only day when I think that being a florist would have been a better career option than being a scientist.

Anyways, Happy Valentine’s Day!!! Let the love spread!

3 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Special!

  1. Puneesh says:

    Valentine’s day rose~$10, Subway Sandwich $5.61, Money spent by americans $17.02 billion, blog by the theantisensestrand priceless!
    There are some things money can’t buy for everyhting else there is …..

  2. Gaurav says:

    @Puneesh

    Thanks! I am flattered. 🙂

Leave a Reply

