Gandhi, Robin Hood & Aladdin Princess!

Yesterday I read this in on CNN-IBN

According to a survey carried out in Britain, many believe that Mahatma Gandhi and Churchill are just mythical figures like Florence Nightingale, popularly known as the Lady with the Lamp. In fact, almost a quarter of the population have the popular notion that Churchill, ‘the greatest Briton of all time’, was made up.

[Snip]

65 per cent of respondents believe that mythical figure King Arthur existed and led a round table of knights at Camelot, 58 per cent of teens think that Holmes really lived at 221B Baker Street.

Fifty-one per cent of respondents believed that Robin Hood lived in Sherwood Forest.

Well this piece of NEWS made me think about instances, when I had thought that a fictional character existed for real or when I assumed a real person for fictional one. Here are some of them:

Jasmine, the Aladdin Princess: I knew she was fictional but as a kid I so much wished for her to be a real person. I had a damn serious crush on her. (an honest confession!)

Robinson Crusoe: Till late, I thought that it was a ‘true’ autobiography about a man struck on an island. I realized it much late that there was no Robinson Crusoe.

Sherlock Holmes: Well, I think as a kid I had also assumed that he was for real.

Cleopatra: I thought she was just a character in Shakespeare’s Caeser and Ceopatra. But never really realized that she was a Hellenistic ruler of Egypt.

Harry Potter: Till 7th book, I thought he was NOT real.

3 thoughts on “Gandhi, Robin Hood & Aladdin Princess!

  1. robin hood says:

    I DO live in Sherwood Forest!!!

  2. S says:

    According to a survey carried out in Britain, many believe that Mahatma Gandhi and Churchill are just mythical figures like Florence Nightingale, popularly known as the Lady with the Lamp. In fact, almost a quarter of the population have the popular notion that Churchill, ‘the greatest Briton of all time’, was made up.

    This is ‘cuz british people are idiots. Trust me.

  3. Gaurav says:

    @S

    Are’nt we all idiots?

Leave a Reply

