What do you want to be after you grow up?

Remember your childhood days when everybody’s second question after “What is your name?”, used to be, “Beta bade ho kar kya banoge?” (What do you want to be after you grow up?)……The funny part about me is that I have faced that question even till my first year of undergrad?(this is part reality part fiction!!). Anyways this is the collection of replies that I have given to this question:

1) Pilot: well thats pretty common among kids in India, in USA the reply would have been Fireman. Anyways, I have not been gifted with a pretty good height and sight, so one dream shattered.

2) Doctor: well this was one I pursued but gave up when got a chance for some other interest. So no qualms about that.

3) Batman: No comments on that one!!

4) Writer: Well time for that is coming soon….

5) Wolverine: Well, wolverine’s actual height according to Marvel Comics matches mine, so I have fair chance at that….

6) Disco Dancer: This one I said after being highly impressed by Mithun Chakraborty starrer movie named Disco Dancer. I am happy that I did not say Mithun Da that day.

7) Mickey Mouse: This one I said fairly recently in full sane mind!!!

8. Athlete and Soccer player: Going by my high school record, I was on my way to be this one, till pressures from surroundings took me off that path. I will always miss this one!!!

9) Stand Up Comedian: Well a friend thinks so and told me this once. I take this as a best compliment, I have ever recieved.

* I am presently a research student working in the field of neuroscience and computational biology. I also write sometimes and thats how grown up, I am till now……

11 thoughts on “What do you want to be after you grow up?

  1. Leon says:

    very well written, though i think u forgot to mention teacher !

  2. swati says:

    cool post sir …….i really wonder bou cause of d mickey mouse aspiration [:)]…….awesome humor once again !!

  3. Gaurav says:

    @Leon
    Thanks…yup teacher is a good option but I dont remember having replied to that question with this answer!!

    @Swati
    Thanks…well ‘Mickey Mouse’ one occured to me on one of those days of hard work and no results. Imagine, how good it would be to be a cartoon character!!!

  4. swati says:

    well yes sir i do agree wid u ……..cartoons have such an amazing life living yet non living

  5. Ankur says:

    the only thing constant in life is change…

    btw u can be a scientist in the day, a stand up comedian in the evening and a batman in the night.

  6. Gaurav says:

    @Ankur

    Ah..thats a wonderful idea!! 🙂 and then on weekends I can start writing abt this wonderful life!!!!….:)

  7. amitscorpio says:

    I guess ankur’s suggestion is gud … if you become scientist, you already are doctor. and in evening you are stand up comedian, in night Batman … being a batman, you will have to know how to fly that bat plane, so pilot done. on friday nights you can come with us and become disco dancer (not that you’ll have to work hard for that).

    I wonder why mickey mouse, why not jerry ??

  8. Ankur says:

    @amit..
    very aptly said 🙂

  9. charumani says:

    hey ..u r already a stand up comedian and a cartoon character. im pretty sure u wld earn ur doctorate very well and rest of the things u can accomplish later!! good luck!!

  10. Ankur Bhardwaj says:

    Fortunately ,,,,you are a blend of all 9

  11. […] fun of myself is easy and it comes naturally to me. I have a lot of posts about me. There is one on what I want to be, one on what I am not, and then about my […]

Leave a Reply

